Author’s Words

Hi my name is Keith. I’m a Grade 12 Student from Corcuera National High School- Senior High School Department at Corcuera, Romblon, Philippines. I’m 17 years of age. And in my high school life, I become more and more interested in exploring the cosmos. I’m also a gamer so most of the time I play spaceflight simulation games.

At first, I was just drawing concept arts of spacecrafts and space stations but when I played my very first spaceflight simulation game which was Simple Rockets by Jundroo, I got more engaged on finding other games which would give me a better gameplay than Simple Rockets. It is because in SR you only have this craft that is in 2D and it also lacks the financial aspect of spaceflight simulation since all the parts are free and you don’t have to buy every single part that you’ll put in your rocket.

Then came Space Agency by Nooleus. It was much better than SR but the main reason why I did not continue making crafts there is because after you finish the missions, things got a little boring. Plus, the game is in 2D as well so you don’t get much realism but you’ll have easier gameplay.

2015 is the year when I get my hands-on Spaceflight Simulator by Microsoft which has stunning graphics but the gameplay was clearly way ahead of my level back then. So, in just a few weeks, I stopped playing the game and came back to Space Agency.

In 2016, I’m finally able to get a copy of Kerbal Space Program by Squad. This game just blew my mind. It’s like Space Agency but in 3D, much more parts are available, better gameplay and much more real. And also, there are a lot of mods that make it more enjoyable. And it became my mainstay spaceflight simulator.

Last year, I saw the release and development of Spaceflight Simulator by Stef Morojna. It a great game but it’s just like simple rockets but with better gameplay.

This year I’m still awaiting the release of Simple Rockets 2 and Space Agency 2, both present a major improvement in gameplay and graphics but also now coming in 3D. all of the aforementioned games where great and I highly recommend you get and play them, they’ll teach you a lot about astronomy and rocket science.

These games help me satisfy my craving on venturing out into the final frontier for I am incapable of physically and financially taking on than adventure.

So that’s me, have a great day everyone.

Leave a comment